Santorini

Santorini is arguably the most famous of the Greek islands and with it’s iconic white washed houses and blue-domed churches, it’s not hard to see why. We gathered on the front of our ship to see the sheer cliffs which add to Santorini’s fame and were not disappointed. From a strategic point of view, it’s not hard to see why Santorini has been inhabited for for so long.

IMG_3401

IMG_3402

It easy to forget how big the cruiser we’re on is when you’re just wandering around, but when little boats like this pull up near by you come back to earth very quickly.

IMG_3403

We disembarked with ease and caught a coach to the top of the cliffs. How the driver navigated the narrow roads and tight turns, I’ll never know but it was an incredible relief to get off safely. The trip was soon the furthest thing from my mind when we start navigating the narrow streets of Santorini, trying not to get left behind.

IMG_3405

It wasn’t long before we stumbled upon our first famed white washed, blue-domed church.

IMG_3407

We were then directed down another alley for the best view of the city. There was so much to see and take in that I felt like my head was on a swivel!

IMG_3410

IMG_3411

IMG_3414

IMG_3416

IMG_3421

For the sake of my bank account and suitcase weight restrictions I resisted going into this cute little bookshop. When I was on exchange, my fabulous flatmates noticed my fondness for books and sent me home with more than a few. You can read about my fav right here.

IMG_3413

The more we walked the more there was to see and we weren’t even at the lookout yet!

IMG_3417

IMG_3437

But the view was definitely worth the trek through crowded streets.

IMG_3422

IMG_3424

IMG_3429

We indulged our inner tourists more than a little.

IMG_3408

IMG_3433 - Copy

and topped off a beautiful day of walking with Frozen Yogurt. Frozen Greek Yogurt!

IMG_3439

Santorini was beautiful, and I’m only disappointed we didn’t get more time there! One day I’ll have to go back to catch the sunset, I hear people applaud it every single day!

Santorini

4 thoughts on “Santorini

Leave a Reply

