Rustic Pearl

I don’t get people that don’t like breakfast. I could legitimately eat breakfast for every meal of the day. Muesli, eggs, porridge, pancakes, I love them all.

So it goes without saying that when I go out for brekky, I want to do it properly. Enter, Rustic Pearl.

IMG_6283

Set in the people-watchers paradise that is Crown St in Surry Hills, Rustic Pearl does it’s best to stand out in a saturated market.

The menu is long enough to keep fussy eaters satisfied, but also features all the usual suspects.

IMG_6270

Steph went with the muesli: Farmer Joe’s smashed berry bircher muesli with whipped rose water yogurt, honey and seasonal fresh fruit.

IMG_6272

Maria and I plumped for the Eggs Benedict: two poached organic eggs on premium bacon, homemade hollandaise sauce and tomato relish

IMG_6273

Now usually, I’m not a huge fan of hollandaise sauce. I often find it too heavy and creamy and it doesn’t sit well with me, but today I had a good feeling about it.

The tomato relish was enough to cut through the creaminess of the hollandaise and perfectly runny egg yolk, complimented by the saltiness of the bacon.

I’m also a big fan of anything that makes cafes a little different. How cute is this lemon water, stoppered with a lemon?

IMG_6277

We were seated on the footpath, and while this gave great scope for people (and dog!) watching, it did make eating a little tricky. The pathways along Crown St are surprisingly sloped so we all had to be careful we didn’t topple over!

IMG_6286

Would I go back though?

Absolutely!

IMG_6279

Rustic Pearl: 415 Crown Street, Surry Hills, Sydney

Leave a Reply

